Archive for ‘Chico Freeman’

septembre 2, 2010

Chico Freeman – Spirit Sensitive

Note ;
du Groupe : North America

Style ; Jazz

Sortie : 1979

This set was a change-of-pace for Chico Freeman for it features the usually adventurous tenor (who doubles on soprano) mostly playing warm versions of standards. The CD reissue adds four
previously unissued selections (including a pair of Coltrane tunes, « Lonnie’s Lament » and « Wise One ») to the original program. With pianist John Hicks, bassist Cecil McBee and either Billy Hart
or Don Moye on drums offering fine support (vibraphonist Jay Hoggard sits in on « Carnival »), Freeman pushes at but does not break the boundaries of hard bop. Highlights include « Autumn in New
York » (a duet with McBee), Horace Silver’s « Peace, » « It Never Entered My Mind » and the bassist’s « Close to You Alone. »

by ~ Scott Yanow, All Music Guide


Tracklist :

1 – Autumn in new-york

2 – Peace

3 – A child is born

4 – Lonnie’s lament

5 – You don’t have to say you’re sorry

6 – Wise one

7 – It never entered my mind

8 – Close to you alone

9 – Carnival

10 – Don’t get around much anymore



Tell a Friend