Archive for ‘DJ Muggs Vs. Ill Bill’

octobre 7, 2010

DJ Muggs Vs. Ill Bill – Kill Devil Hills


Origine du Groupe : North America

Style : Hip Hop , Rap Fusion

Sortie : 2010

media player


June 10th, 2010 –  DJ Muggs is one of the industries most talented and best known producers.  Since Cypress Hill’s formation in 1991, the pioneering rap-rock quartet has come a long way
from the streets of South Central L.A. Over the course of its 19-year history, Cypress Hill has sold more than 17 million albums worldwide, including more than 11 million records in the U.S.
alone. The group has garnered 15 multi-platinum, platinum and gold certifications from the RIAA; headlined Lollapalooza, Woodstock and the group’s own Smokin’ Grooves tour, appeared on « Saturday
Night Live, » made the late-night talk show circuit—all the while breaking down the musical and cultural barriers between hip-hop, alternative, metal, rock, reggae, ska and Latin music. In 2008,
DJ Muggs, along with Cypress Hill received a VH1 Hip Hop Honors, to celebrate the vision and innovation that the group continues to bring to Hip Hop, strengthening its force around the

Yet, that only touches on what Muggs has done as a member of Cypress Hill, as his highly-influential solo-projects (Soul Assassin Series, Grandmaster’s with Wu-Tang Clan’s GZA) and not to mention
producing hits for House of Pain « Jump Around » and Ice Cube « Check Yo Self » among many others.  Ill Bill was obviously honored to be working with Muggs, as he affirms « I’ve always been a
huge Muggs fan and his Vs. series is one of the last places to hear the vibe that made albums by Cypress Hill & Gang Starr so dope. Not too many producers can craft an entire album on their
own, let alone an album that’s a classic. Muggs has done it many times over the past 20 years. It’s an honor to be part of that legacy. »

For the vast majority of his career, whether solo or in a group capacity, Muggs has established a precedent for working hand in hand with artists and creating cohesive bodies of work, rather then
spreading around beats from project to project and that rings true once again on Kill Devil Hills « I prefer getting in the lab and actually creating projects with people instead of just sending
out beat CDs. I’m a producer in the fullest extent, where I like to not only produce an album; but craft an album. Being able to start a record from the beginning and following through with it,
making sure that all the songs compliment each other. I’ve always come from making albums and producing my records—I’m still into that » relays DJ Muggs.

Ill Bill was a founding member of Non Phixion who released their seminal debut, The Future Is Now, in 2002 and has also released two influential solo LP’s.  Bill has also released an LP as a
member of the bi-coastal conglomerate La Coka Nostra (which also includes Everlast, Danny Boy and DJ Lethal of House Of Pain and newcomer Slaine).  Ill Bill’s The Hour Of Reprisal (2008)
showed flashes of what the future would hold, as Bill & Muggs collaborated on two tracks (« This Is Who I Am » & « Only Time Will Tell ») for Bill’s most recent solo-LP.

Kill Devil Hills is entirely produced by DJ Muggs and features appearances by B-Real, Raekwon, Sean Price, Everlast, Slaine, Chace Infinite, O.C. Q-Unique, Vinnie Paz and others, but by going
where instinct took them, Ill Bill & DJ Mugg’s collaborative union manifested into a sonically cohesive album; seemingly very organically as Ill Bill asserts «  »Production & conceptually,
this record plays out like a movie. All the songs connect. It moves like a concept record the way the beats blend with the words even though we didn’t plan it like that. It’s basically it’s own
sound, the Muggs vs. Bill sound » and Muggs adds « the chemistry between us was very natural. Any decisions we had to make, it was easy, like we’d worked together for years.  When we sat back
& heard the final product, man, we were both blown away. »


Tracklist :

01. Cult Assassin

02. Trouble Shooters ft. Sean Price, O.C. & Sick Jacken

03. Paul Stanley

04. Illuminati 666

05. Amputated Saint ft. B-Real

06. Skull & Guns ft. Everlast & Slaine Of La Coka Nostra

07. Giants Stadium ft. Q-Unique

08. The Owl

09. Millenniums Of Murder

10. Chase Manhattan ft. Raekwon

11. Luciferian Imperium

12. Ill Bill TV

13. Secrets Worth Dying For ft. Chace Infinite

14. 2013

15. Kill Devil Hills ft. B-Real & Vinnie Paz

16. Narco Corridos ft. Sick Jacken & Uncle Howie



Tell a Friend

// <![CDATA[ aR_BgColor=""; aR_FgColor=""; aR_url=location.href; aR_title=document.title; aR_StarType ='3';document.write('

‘);document.write( »);// ]]>